T-21 Days to Christmas – Homemade Ornaments

I love homemade gifts and ornaments. I have made many for others through the years. For the longest time, I had a tree that consisted of only homemade ornaments. Last year, we decided to go with theme trees in different rooms so I sacrificed my homemade collection for the Kitchen themed tree. I’m thinking next year, I need one more tree in the house so I can go back to the homemade one too. There are tons of ideas out there of things to do with your children.

I want to share two recipes with you that my sister has used in the past to have her church group or her own children make ornaments for others. These ornaments have proven to be extremely durable so I asked her to share the recipes/websites with me so I could share with you.

Here is a picture of the ones I have from her and my niece and nephew:

Salt Dough and Cinnamon Dough Ornaments.

With both of these recipes, I believe the reason they have endured through the years is that Beth didn’t roll them too thin. They are about 1/4 – 1/2 inch thick.

Beth’s Salt Dough Ornament Recipe (origin unknown)

The painted ornaments are made of Salt Dough and then baked. They allowed the children to paint them. On the back they personalized them with their names and the date in permanent fine tipped marker.

Here is the recipe:
2 Cups Flour
1 Cup Salt
1 Cup Water

Sift together flour and salt.
Add 1/2 of water and mix
Slowly add the rest of the water.
Knead on lightly floured surface until dough is smooth (about 10 minutes).

Add food coloring at this point if you want colored dough.

Roll out & cut using cookie cutters (metal ones work best). Don’t roll too thin (we shot for 1/4″-1/2″)

Use a drinking straw to make a ribbon hole if using for and ornament.

Bake at 325 for 1-1 1/2 hours.

Completely cool before painting (we let ours cool at least overnight!).

We might have sprayed them with a matte sealant – I can’t remember. But do this after the paint has dried for at least 24 hours.

Beth’s Cinnamon Ornament Dough Recipe origin The Nourishing Gourmet
Homemade Cinnamon Ornaments

1/2 cup of powered cinnamon
2 teaspoon powdered cloves
6 tablespoons of applesauce
1 tablespoon of white glue
White flour
1. Combine the above ingredients, stirring until stiff, then kneading a bit with your hands.

2. On a well dusted surface, roll out 1/4 inch thick. Cut with cookie cutters. Place on a cooling rack until completely dry (2-3 days). If you are planning on hanging the ornaments, make sure you poke a hole somewhere before you dry.

Take some time this season to do some “unplugged” activities such as crafting or reading with your children. You will all be glad you did. I would love to see pictures or receive homemade ornaments that you made if you are looking for a recipient.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun Music and Activities for Families

Leave a Reply

