Resolve to make more music

Welcome to 2012. If your holidays were anything like ours, technology played a large part in our activities and our gifts. However, we also  got toys and activities that are retro in the fact that we are “unplugged” – for Hannah a yo-yo, for Sarah a new Scrabble board, for Greg – a gift of a date a month for the next year from me – face time in the most organic sense of the term. For me, I received a ukelele. Now, I have never played a string instrument (10 weeks of violin methods in college does not count in my book) so I am having to learn new ways to listen and hold an instrument – it’s been a long time since I was a beginner at anything musical. It’s fun though – I’m really having to think and process. It’s exciting when I actually “get” it. 

While I am a huge fan of technology (obviously – I write a blog, am on Facebook all the time, use an iPod in class and just got an iPhone), it is important to also have activities that do not include a charger. We enjoy working jigsaw puzzles, I still read books consisting of ink, paper and glue, board games, card games, conversations with our friends. This is very true for everyone! Parents of young children – did you know Kindermusik classes give you an opportunity to have real face time with your child while you sing, dance, play acoustic instruments, read and learn together? What a magical time that 45 minutes a week can be where you really can disconnect from your “tech” tools and plug into being with your child. We are currently enrolling for classes right now that will begin in just a couple weeks. We are offering some short – 4 week- sessions for those who are not ready to commit to a fifteen week semester. We have day and evening classes available for children ages newborn – 7 year olds. 

For the older child, or the adult, how about committing to playing the piano in 2012. By 2013, you could have a repertoire of at least 20 songs in different genres and styles. You will know how to play the blues and to accompany yourself or someone else singing. This is a great way to engage your brain in a new way. Don’t worry if you feel you have failed at piano (or another instrument) in the past. Don’t claim you aren’t musical – everyone is! I would love to show you the joy making music can add to your life. What a sense of accomplishment when you realize you can do it! You are never too old to learn!

If you want more information on any of these programs (Kindermusik, or Simply Music Piano Lessons) leave a comment on this blog post, find me on Facebook (Miss Christa’s Music Studio or Kindermusik with Miss Christa and Friends), give me a call 740 854 4011 or visit my website www.misschristamusic.com. Let me help you resolve to be musical in 2012! Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Classroom Reflections

Leave a Reply

