Recommended Books for Christmas Presents

Some of the parents in class have asked for some guidance on selecting books for Christmas presents. The books listed in this post are chosen because they are available through Scholastic books which we offer as a service in the studio. Before I give you that list, though, I will tell you that I believe, when buying children’s books, you cannot go wrong with the following authors. These are listed in no particular order because I love them all. In addition, there are many great children’s books on the market today and the most important thing in finding a book is finding one that appeals to the child. There are fiction and non-fiction books on every subject under the sun now and it is a great time to be a reader. 

My favorite children’s authors: 

  • Mo Willems
  • Dr. Suess
  • Chris Van Allsberg
  • Graeme Base
  • Jan Brett
  • Eric Carle

These are authors that I will buy books over and over again. I don’t even have to read them first, I will buy them based on the name on the cover. Most of them do fabulous art work in addition to high quality writing. 

Okay now on to the book recommendations as requested. These are in no way at all comprehensive lists – I tried to keep it short which is hard because I LOVE books. 

From Honeybee December (infants – four year olds):

  • # 70 – 10 Trim the Tree-ers (holiday story for counting and great illustrations)
  • #57  – Potty Animals (a great potty training story)
  • #39 – Huggapotamus (fun cuddle story)
  • #65 – Snowmen at Christmas (season favorite at our house)
  • #66 – The Snowy Day (children’s classic by Ezra Keats)
  • # 37 – Seasonal Favorites Pack (several great holiday stories to enjoy throughout the season)
  • #75 – Under My Hood I Have a Hat ( I love this one for pre-readers)
  • #61 – Rhyme and Repetition Pack (another set of books to really build your library)
  • #12 –  Classics Pack
  • #74 – Twelve Days of Christmas (this is a hardback book that has overwhelmingly beautiful pictures to go with the traditional holiday song). 

FireFly December (PreK-K)

  • #32 – Home for Christmas (Jan Brett books are just awesome – all of them)
  • #15 – Christmas Trolls Pack (Jan Brett again – has read along CD)
  • #46  – Llama Llama Holiday Drama (all of the Llama Llama books are fantastic I bought this one for all of my cousins’ children last year)
  • #63 – Polar Bear
  • #70 – Skippyjon Jones Shape Up (Love Skippyjon Jones)
  • #66 – I Spy Merry Christmas (hidden pictures fun)
  • #37 – Knuffle Bunny Pack (if you don’t already have the Knuffle Bunny stories get them)
  • #36 – Incredible Me Pack (Stand Tall Molly Lou Mellon was suggested to me by a Kindermusik parent a few years ago – so happy I found it).

SeeSaw December (K-1)-

  • #77 – Strega Nona’s Gift (Tomie De Pola is a great author illustrator)
  • #54 – Pete The Cat Pack (fun rhythm and rhyme)
  • #15 – Chicka Chicka Boom Boom Pack (my girls wore these books out)
  • #23 – Elephant and Piggie Pack (Mo Willems need I say more?)
  • #12  – Read and Seek (hidden picture fun)
  • #28 – Gingerbread Baby and CD (another Jan Brett)
  • #82 – Where Did They Hide My Presents (this books is alternative holiday lyrics to familiar songs – they can be fun to read as poetry or to try to figure out how to sing)

Club Shop (online – we do not have this flyer in the studio):

  • If You Give A Dog a Donut
  • Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
  • My Truck is Stuck (if you have taken Away We Go or Fiddle Dee Dee with me you have seen this one – I love it)
  • Red Sled -what happens when the sled gets left in the forest
  • When I Grow Up – hilarious read aloud book by Weird Al Yankovic
  • Llama Llama Time To Share – the newest of the Llama Llama books. 

These are my suggestions. If you have questions about other books on the list, please ask. Though I don’t have them all, I do know most of them. My personal rule of thumb when buying for my girls was to avoid character books such as Barbie, Dora, Legos etc.because I found they would reject those books as soon as the fad of the character had faded for them. However, if you have a reluctant reader/listener, those type of books can sometimes be a hook to bring them in. Image

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Classroom Reflections

Leave a Reply

