Heading Home…

Well, our time in Chicagoland is over. It is bittersweet for me. I have loved being at convention and united with so many kindred spirits. These wonderful people really understand me! I have learned so much and have so many new and fresh ideas. Some of which will be implemented this week in class. Some will materialize over time. I know I’m going to be a better teacher and a better business woman for being here. I also have had my brain stimulated for my own personal life long learning.

I am ready to sleep in my own bed and drink my own fresh brewed coffee. I miss my girls and am ready to go back to being mom. I miss my students and, I even miss the cats:-)

It was announced that next year’s convention will be in Raleigh, NC the first week of November. I already know that I need to be there, if at all possible.

The one regret I have is that I haven’t heard any jazz or blues while I’ve been here. I need to come back and just visit instead of being in the convention center 15 hours a day. Greg and I tried to find some place in Shaumburg to go last night after the banquet, but this is definitely NOT the town that never sleeps. The one piano bar we found closes at 11 p.m. We weren’t back from the banquet until 10:30. Oh Well!!!! I did what I came to do.

One funny story —
There was a tech convention upstairs in the convention center. On Friday morning as I was walking in, I was singing, kind of under my breath. I really wasn’t even conscious of the fact that I was doing so. There was a guy from the tech convention behind me. He said, “now there is a woman who truly loves her job. She is already singing this morning”. (It was EARLY). I turned to him and I said, “I absolutely love what I do. There is not another career in the world that I would rather have. I have the best job in the world.” He said, “I don’t think I could ever say that.”. I felt sorry for him. Having a passion for what I do, makes even the worst day not so bad.

One side note – this is for anyone who was in my first village class – the one where we tied the scarves together to “thread the needle”:

I have seen that activity done and I think I can actually lead it now. I will never forget what great sports you all were as I was mortified that it didn’t work. But, now I know that it CAN work and it CAN be a lot of fun;-)

See you all soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts

Leave a Reply

