Jumpstart’s Read for the Record

As I have been announcing in class this week, tomorrow (October 2) is Jumpstart’s Read for the Record day. The selected book for this year is Corduroy. This was a favorite story of mine as a child and I realized with regret that my own children have never owned this book. I can’t believe that it had slipped my mind. When I bought my copy and re-read it, it was like rediscovering an old friend. I am going to try to read to my own children tomorrow, but they are getting older and I may get some resistance. Greg likes to be read to, so perhaps I will read to him instead.

Tomorrow there will be events all over the United States. I will be reading it to my Our Time and Imagine That classes. I have put a video of the book being read in my Vodpod as well. The voice quality is somewhat poor, but I love the use of music with each page. I just received an email that beginning at 8:00 a.m. tomorrow morning L.L. Cool J, Mary-Louise Parker, Greg Kinnear, Jesse McCartney and Matt Lauer will kick off the record breaking day. As soon as I post this, I’m going to set the DV-R because I don’t often have the T.V. on in the mornings any more.

If you want more information about Jumpstart and the Read for the Record, I encourage you to visit their website. Even if you are officially reading for the world record tomorrow, and even if you are reading Corduroy, take time to read to yourself and to a child.

Leave a comment

Filed under Extension ideas for home, Parent-itis

Leave a Reply

