Random thoughts towards the weekend

Wow, I have a lot on my brain that I want to share. There are some  interesting things that have happened this week or have crossed my computer or desk.

First of all, welcome to our new Kindermusik families and thanks so much to those who are visiting and trying us out. I hope you felt welcome and that you can see the immense benefits Kindermusik can have on your child’s life. Feel free to contact me at any time if I can answer any questions or help in any way.

We read for the record yesterday! I have the envelope with our participation verifications ready to go out in today’s mail. I am so impressed by my incredible classes. Even the toddlers sat through the Corduroy book. They are going to be excellent students when they get to school! I hope you enjoy the book over and over again at home.

A new reading website for you. Robert Munsch is a terrific author that I use often in class. In fact, the Hello Weather classes will soon be hearing Mud Puddle – a hilarious story about a little girl who keeps getting attacked by a mud puddle and how she conquers it. My most favorite Robert Munsch book in the whole collection is Love You Forever. Every family should own this book. Every mother should read this book. It is a testimony to parent love that cannot be matched. However, this is the one book you will never hear me read publicly – especially in class – because I cannot read it (silently or out loud) without crying. You can hear Mr. Munsch read it himself here. I am warning you – close the door, make a cup of tea and get a box of tissues. You are going to need them.

Recently, I have had some challenges in my life outside of Kindermusik where, though I am dedicated, cheerful, upbeat, optomistic, encouraging it seems I meet criticism (unfair in my opinion) and am being challenged on what I am trying to achieve. Really, this is a minor thing, but as anyone who knows me will tell you, I love to keep people happy and I love to help and I love to be happy. These challenges can really bring me down and can consume my thoughts and energy if I am not careful. I’ve been praying about doing a better job letting the small stuff go (at least now I can realize it is small stuff) but I’ve still been dwelling on it some. This morning, through the Yahoogroup I belong to made up of people from my high school graduating class, I was introduced to Randy Pausch and his “Last Lecture”. WOW WOW WOW – thank you, God, this is the little kick I needed to move on. I am suspecting as I did some research on the internet, that I quite possibly am the only person that has NOT heard this, but just in case, I am posting a reprise of his lecture here for you. I hope it motivates you and inspires you in the way it did for me. The complete lecture is at YouTube and I will post it in the vodpod. The full lecture is over an hour long, but this reprise is only 12 minutes long. I guarantee, it will be time well spent.

Enjoy your weekend, live life to the fullest, and hug those kids for me. I’ll see you soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Parent-itis, Personal Thoughts

Leave a Reply

