T-19 days to Christmas – Quiet Time

Glowing lights in a dim room, candles lit on the piano in my office, the cuckoo clock ticking on the wall, the bells tinkling on the Christmas tree as the cat squeezes under it, hot coffee, warm socks…. peace.

Anyone who knows me well will tell you I am on the go. I am a multi-tasker (trying to reform this but not being successful) and typical Type A personality with a daily to-do list longer than I am tall every day. As I write this, my brain is processing – not only the words on my screen – but also what else needs to be done today and what time it needs to be completed before I have to go teach tonight.

But, what most people don’t realize about me, is I enjoy down time. I love to lie on the couch and just listen to the sounds of the house around me. I love the peace in my office when all I can hear is the clock ticking and, occasionally, birds singing outside my window. I enjoy reading a book or sitting and rocking on my porch.

This is especially true at the holidays. There are so many things on my list – especially this year as: we are getting a visit from Greg’s sister whom we have not seen in ten years, both girls are in band now and Hannah has also going the Alexander Tone Definites Jr (choir) group, we are wrapping up the semester for Kindermusik two days before Christmas and I am teaching piano through the month of December (something new for me this year). I NEED quiet time. I NEED reflective, peaceful, quiet, prayerful time. I NEED to keep myself centered and relaxed. This is the most wonderful time of the year for me. I love the weather (yep I really do). I love the cooler temperatures. I love the busy schedules and socializing. I love the hustle and bustle. But, to truly enjoy it, I have to be still.

Here are the candles I enjoy in my office and our tree from the living room. If you search the web, you can find “fireplace” screen savers and I have even seen DVDs of fireplaces and yule logs burning. Take some quiet time today. Take a bubble bath, enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine, read a book, write a poem, or just close your eyes and be. I guarantee it will be an energizing time to help you get on the holiday merry-go-round in a better frame of body and mind.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Thoughts

Leave a Reply

