T-18 Days to Christmas – Smells

This was not the post I had in mind for this morning, but I walked out side to get something out of the car and the smell hit me. That fresh, cold, simple but rich smell of winter. Everything is clean, there is a tinge of wood smoke and laundry softener on the breeze. You can take a deep breath without feeling as though you are breathing through a washcloth. I came in the house singing, “It’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas…” As I thought about it, it really is – candles, cookies, fresh air, pine. Ahhh the beautiful scents of the season.

Here are a few of my favorite scents. What are yours?
Cinnamon – for some reason this scent can make me feel warm even when I am super chilly.
Peppermint – especially peppermint coffee or tea. Breathe deeply and relax.
Fresh air – need a I say more?
Sugar cookies – nothing indicates comfort more to me.

Don’t forget to breathe deeply through the rest of the season. Fill your nose and your lungs with the peace, joy and comfort of the season.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal Thoughts

2 responses to “T-18 Days to Christmas – Smells

  1. Your grandmother’s salami recipe in the oven.

  2. Ohhhh I forgot about that one. I need to get the meat this weekend and get it started.

Leave a Reply

