T-15 Days to Christmas – MUSIC!

Okay – so before I write today’s post – I need to share that I have changed the day count. When I started this, I was counting today and Christmas Day. That would still make today T-16 – but as the holiday approaches the math doesn’t work in my brain. Today is 10 and Christmas is 25 so it should be 15. My blog – my prerogative to change my mind. Now that this cleared up….
Let’s talk about probably my most favorite thing about the holidays. The MUSIC! (Is anyone really surprised?) I currently have 14 hours, 35 minutes and 12 seconds of Christmas music in my iTunes. It may be more than that, because I just searched for the word Christmas. With the discovery of Pandora radio this year for me, I have even more Christmas music for my listening pleasure.
In addition to listening to Christmas music (almost exclusively during this time of the year), I love to play it on the piano and sing along.
So what is my favorite Christmas music you asked? Here are my top 25 favorite songs and I have given up on putting them in order:
1. Do You Hear What I Hear?
2. Silver Bells
3. Winter Wonderland
4. Oh Holy Night
5. O Come All Ye Faithful
6. I’ll Be Home for Christmas
7. C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S
8. I Want a Hippopatamus for Christmas
9. We Need a Little Christmas
10. It Must Have Been The Mistletoe (this is a Barbara Mandrell song I love to sing along with)
11. Let It Snow
12. 12 Days of Christmas (My uncle Gary singing 5 Golden Rings as the family members divide up the days is my favorite way to sing this, but Straight No Chaser’s version is my favorite for listening)
13. Jingle Bell Rock
14. The Nutcracker – the entire ballet – love to see it and to listen to it.
15. Rocking Around the Christmas Tree
16. Winter Wonderland
17. I’ll Be Home for Christmas
18. The Friendly Beasts
19. Away in a Manger
20. Feliz Navidad (don’t tease – I’ll always remember the 4th graders at Zaleski elementary doing this with me when I was a brand new teacher)
21. O Come O Come Emmanuel
22. Silent Night
23. Marvelous Toy (not technically a Christmas song but I love it)
24. One Night a Year (Barbara Mandrell)
25. Nuttin For Christmas

There are so many more – I could probably come up with a list of 100. But, each of these on this list, has a special story behind it. Aren’t you glad there aren’t more days to Christmas or I may just expound on each.

No matter whether you perform music, listen to it, sing it, enjoy it or not. You cannot go through the Christmas season without it.

If you are looking for an opportunity for your family to experience a life performance of music this season, the Communiversity Band and Athens Children’s Chorus will be presenting their annual Christmas concert at Templeton-Blackburn Memorial Auditorium tomorrow afternoon (December 11) at 4:00 p.m. I believe Sarah is going to play in the flute section and I will be there – maybe with bells on!

Leave a comment

Filed under Classroom Reflections, Fun Music and Activities for Families, Personal Thoughts

Leave a Reply

