T-11 Days to Christmas – Movies

As a rule, I’m a book kind of girl more than movies. But Christmas movies are a tradition (in my own mind) that must also be kept. My all-time favorite Christmas movie ever is White Christmas – seriously Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye and Rosemary Clooney – that troupe just cannot be beat. I love the music, the story and – I won’t tell you the end if you have never seen it, but the end is enough to bring me to tears (happy ones) every single year. Music, romance, dancing, snow and Christmas – perfect! This is the one movie I have purchased on iTunes and now carry on my iPhone. I have been known to watch it other times of year. The companion movie – Holiday Inn – is also fantastic, but White Christmas takes the cake.

Christmas is also not Christmas – much to Greg’s chagrin – without A Christmas Story. You won’t believe it, but I’m giggling just typing the title. This movie makes me laugh so hard I snort! A few years ago, my mother-in-law even found me a Christmas card with a photo of a kid with his tongue stuck to a lamp post triple dog daring me to have a Merry Christmas. My maturity level is ‘frah -gee- lay’ while watching this show.

As a Dr. Suess fan, How The Grinch Stole Christmas, is a favorite as well. I have the stuffed toys from Kohl’s, the story book, the coloring book and several versions of You’re A Mean One Mr Grinch on my iPod. I was a big skeptic when Jim Carrey (not my favorite actor) was chosen to do the feature film version of the story several years ago. But, as a good mommy, I took Sarah any way. I was pleasantly surprised and we now own this one on DVD. I still prefer the cartoon version and Boris Karloff’s narration, but the 2000 version isn’t bad.

There are a million versions of A Christmas Carol but my very favorite version is the one done by the Muppets with Michael Caine as Scrooge. We just watched this as a family the other night – sad to say we still have to play it on the VCR. How old school!

One thing I realize I have missed by not having satellite or cable t.v. any more are the traditional cartoons – Rudolph, Peanuts, Frosty the Snowman, Santa Claus is Coming to Town. These are surprisingly NOT streaming on Netflix – come on Netflix – seriously? Maybe it is time to invest in the box set before next year.

This is the one time of year that I can tolerate large quantities of sappy Lifetime and Hallmark movies though. I find myself streaming them in the office while I’m doing paper work and filing. Before I know it, I’m sniffling and teary eyed. Hmmmmm maybe I just like to cry at this time of year.

Yes, I know there are other movies that are perennial favorites to others – It’s a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th Street come to mind. But, these two are movies that I don’t need to see every year. I enjoy them but don’t long to see them every year as I do with the others.

Take a movie night with the family – enjoy retelling these stories over and over again and sharing the way you watched them as children. Remember when we didn’t have the option of Rudolph more than once a year?

Until tomorrow – happy preparations!

2 Comments

Filed under Classroom Reflections

2 responses to “T-11 Days to Christmas – Movies

  1. Jodi

    Love it, Christa! And it’s funny because I was thinking the other day about how as a kid, I enjoyed Rudolf so much more because I looked forward to seeing it when it came on at Christmas time. We have it on video for the boys and I don’t think it will be as big a deal to them. Same for Charlie Brown. As for all the versions of Scrooge, Scrooged with Bill Murray is my favorite. It makes me laugh and cry. It would probably be #3 on my list of favorite Christmas movies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

